Photography, Website & Print Design solutions.

Project 2 feedback and changes …

I recieved a great response and some good feedback in the Universities peer critique for project 2. Based on the feedback and some suggestion, I’ve made a few changes to my project.
DSC01855-B
I have recropped the shot above and blurred the background so it is less distracting behind the phone users.
DSC01855
I tried another crop above which included another photographer but I thought it aslo distracted from the boys who were so interesting.

As a note on it’s development, the image above is actually one that I combined from two photos – the unused portions from both are shown below, you can make out where it is split behind the boy at left which shows how close I came to not capturing this image.
DSC01854 unused

After much consideration, I’ve chosen the image below to replace image 7 of the smiling couple at the table.
DSC01848
I dismissed this image originally as it is a tad blurry, but I’ve sharpened the ladies face and phone and I think it is more fitting to the caption as part of the story.

Some other options I considered are shown below:


I think the image below is probably the most powerful in the series.
DSC01329-B
I’ve blurred the background to put more focus onto the subject so that it has more of an impact. I did this in Photoshop by selecting the background only then using the blur tool so that it appeared natural as if I’d used a larger aperture when taken. I also used the burn tool the darken the girls midtones and highlights slightly and the sponge tool the add a little saturation to her so she stands out a little more.

Of the last image in my series, the tutor Jess said this:
“The last image of the piled up broken phones is effective but doesn’t work as well with the series. I would reconsider this one or include another that is similar.”
After thinking about Jess’ comments, I had an idea last night to alter the last image so that it included a human element and a reference to social media platforms in the hope that it ties in better with the other images in my series while relating to the story of social media consumption.
DSC01471
As I couldn’t access the old broken phones again, I took a seperate photo and used photoshop to combine them.

Leave a Reply

